GRANDEUR OF DURGOTSAV – A Deity with 10 Arms & 5 Days Festive Extravaganza

দেবীর শাশ্বত অভয়বাণী—
“ইত্থং যদা যদা বাধা দানবোত্থা ভবিষ্যতি ।।তদা তদাবতীর্যাহং করিষ্যাম্যরিসংক্ষয়ম্‌

”Eternal Prayer of the Goddess- “Abstinence is always the future of obstacles.” At that time, there is a charisma.

Durgotsav is a festival of “Bengalis- the bongs” in  Hinduism and traditionally held for 10 days in the month of Ashvina (September–October), the seventh month of the Hindu calendar.  Durga Puja is the major festival of five-day extravaganza of great festivities, which is celebrated in honor of the powerful Goddess a sign that triumph of good over evil. The pompous occasion of 6-days non-stop enjoyment all over in Bengali community and also known as Navaratri in other parts of India with 9 days Puja and enjoyment. But “Goddess Durga” have innumerable significance related to her weapons and her womanly presence. The ten arms of Goddess Durga symbolize that she protects her devotees from all directions namely the eight corners and from the sky and the earth. 

Maa Durga Happy Shardiya Navratri

Goddess Durga is depicted with three eyes that signify sun, moon and fire beside the past, present and future meaning that she is the ruler of the worlds and the one who is timelessly eternal. The ten hands of Lord Durga hold in them a conch, discus, lotus, sword, bow with an arrow, Trishul, mace, thunderbolt, snake, and flame.

The symbolism of these weapons are as follows:

  1. Conch: The conch is the symbol of the primordial sound called ‘AUM’ from which the entire creation emerged.
  2. Discuss: The discuss revolving around Durga’s hands shows that Durga is the center of creation and all the universe revolves around her.
  3. Lotus: The lotus a beautiful flower that emerges from the slushy water to full blossom, Lord Durga’s compassion will help men rise up from their worldly bondage and evil to attain Moksha or liberation.
  4. Sword: To overcome their negativity from the other non-existence things and marks the sharpness of intellect.
  5. Bow and arrow: The bow and arrow are the symbols of energy while the bow represents potential energy, the arrow represents the kinetic energy.
  6. Trishul: The Trishul or the trident has three sharp edges meaning that humans are composed of three Gunas or qualities namely Tamas (inactivity and lethargic tendency), Rajas (hyperactivity and desires) and Sattva (positivity and purity). As the trident pierces anything to death, the compassion of Mother Durga shall confer the wisdom necessary to conquer the three qualities and emerge victorious.
  7. Mace: Enjoins humans to exhibit loyalty, love, and devotion to Mother Durga.
  8. Thunderbolt: represents firmness and solidarity of purpose with which humans should pursue the ultimate goal of their lives.
  9. Snake: Indicates the upward movement from the lower state of consciousness to the higher state of existence experiencing pure bliss.
  10. Flame: signifies wisdom and knowledge that is required to get the worldly benefits as well as the spiritual attainments. 

Her existence was due to rejoice against the evil Mahishasura – the son of Rambha’s son who was blessed from Bhramhma to be immortal and can never be killed my men or animal. But due to his rigorous behaviour against the other goddess in heaven he was asked to be killed by the other gods. Then Brahma, Vishnu and Maheshwar planned and somehow managed to decide to kill the devil by a woman. Who is also an incarnate of Lakshmi and Saraswati together makes a powerful deity Durga.

Happy Durga Puja

A grandeur of this festival is mean for six days i.e:

The sixth day of Navaratri is Shosti or the sixth day of Devi Paksha marks the auspicious beginning of Durga Puja in Bengal. On the ‘Bodhon’ or first day, Goddess Durga is welcomed on earth along with her family.

Saptami or the Seventh day is On the early morning of Maha Saptami, Goddess Durga is worshiped with nine different plants, known as Nabapatrika. During the Durga Puja celebration, these plants fundamentally represent the nine different incarnations of Shakti.

Ashtami or the Eighth day is the most sacred day of Durga Puja. Day when people fast and give Pushpanjali and believe to enchant Durga mantra for goodness and wellness. Sandhi Puja is performed at the end of Durga Ashtami and the beginning of Maha Navami. And of the most sacred time of Durga puja.

Nabami the Ninth day when ‘Maha Aarti’ brings the formal end to religious customs. 

Maa Durga

Vijaya Dashami or the tenth day also known as Dussehra is celebrated in honor of the victory of Lord Rama over the Demon Ravana and also the triumph of Goddess Durga over the powerful buffalo demon Mahishasura. This day is celebrated with the burning of Ravan’s idol and firecrackers across India.

Worshipping Durga idol brings spiritual wealth and prosperity in the house, destroys evil vices and gives wisdom and success to the human being. This is what revels in the spirit of the jubilant Durga Puja where the whole festive season begins and ends in a stretch of 5 days.

To the very month of the festive season, wishing all the readers… Happy Durga Puja & Happy Navaratri, wish u all the good vibes and may all win over the evil demons and have a fresh start to the lovely lives. 

Also Read:

Leave a Comment