List of Triple Centuries in Test Cricket

List of Triple Centuries in Test Cricket: As on October 2023; 27 different batters have scored 31 triple centuries in the test cricket match. Andy Sandham (England) made the first triple century in test cricket , 325 Run in 640 balls against the West Indies in year 1930 at Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica.

When a batsmens hits a score of 300 or more, it is called a triple century in Cricket. Test cricket is the traditional format of cricket that is 5 days long. It is a slower cricket format and allows teams players to exhibit their full skillset. Team inning last a full day, until the entire team batting order is dismissed or the team declares its score. To date, There are 12 test playing nations in the world. Ireland is the 12th test match playing nation which got this status on 11 May 2018 while Afghanistan was the 11th country which got test status on 14 June 2018.

There have been occasions when batsmen have been able to convert the double hundreds in triple hundreds. On 31 occasions, batsmen have crossed the 300 run mark in a Test innings. Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara and Don Bradman, are 3 of the greatest cricketers of all time are all known for their proficiency in test cricket.

The fastest Test triple-century in terms of time (4 hours 48 minutes) was scored by the Wally Hammond from England in 1932–33.

Out of 12 test playing countries only 8 have scored a triple century in test matches while no player from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ireland and Zimbabwe has ever scored 300 runs.

In the Test cricket, David Warner (Australia) became the latest triple-century scorer against Pakistan on 30 November 2019. He scored 335* and became the 31st triple century scorer in the World. You can check the list of all triple centuries in test cricket below.

List of Batsmen Scored Triple Centuries in Test Cricket

Player NameRuns ScoredDate (Latest to Oldest)
1. David Warner (Australia)335*30 November 2019
2. Karun Nair (India)303*19 December 2016
3. Azhar Ali (Pakistan)30213 October 2016
4. Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)302      18 February 2014
5. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)3195 February 2014
6. Hashim Amla (South Africa)311*19 July 2012
7. Michael Clarke (Australia)329*3 January 2012
8. Chris Gayle (West Indies)33315 November 2010
9. Younis Khan (Pakistan)31321 February 2009
10. Virender Sehwag (India)31926 March 2008
11. Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)37427 July 2006
12. Chris Gayle (West Indies)31729 April 2005
13. Brian Lara (West Indies)400* 10 April 2004
14. Virender Sehwag (India)309      28 March 2004
15. Matthew Hayden ( Australia)380 9 October 2003
16. Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan)3291 May 2002
17. Mark Taylor (Australia)334*     15 October 1998
18. Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka)340      2 August 1997
19. Brian Lara (West Indies)375 16 April 1994
20. Graham Gooch (England)33326 July 1990
21. Lawrence Rowe (West Indies)3026 March 1974
22. Bob Cowper (Australia)30711 February 1966
23. John Edrich (England)310*8 July 1965
24. Bob Simpson (Australia)31123 July 1964
25. Garfield Sobers (West Indies)365* 26 February 1958
26. Hanif Mohammad (Pakistan)337    17 January 1958
27. Len Hutton (England)364 20 August 1938
28. Donald Bradman (Australia)30420 July 1934
29. Wally Hammond (England)336* 31 March 1933
30. Donald Bradman (Australia)334 11 July 1930
31. Andy Sandham ( England)325 3 April 1930
Virender Sehwag (India), Donald Bradman (Australia), Brian Lara and Chris Gayle (West Indies) are the only batsmen to scored 300 plus score more than once in the test matches. Australian players scored 8 triple centuries in Test Cricket Format, West Indies players scored 6, and England players and Wales players scored 5 Triple centuries each in Test cricket. Virender Sehwag and Karun Nair the are only two Indians who have scored Triple Centuries.

Leave a Comment